Welcome to the home of SPJ Milwaukee-Pro
Improving and protecting journalism since 1909


Your Subtitle text


Founded in 1909, The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) is the nation's largest organization for journalists. SPJ is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty.
 It is the mission of the Society of Professional Journalists:

 — To promote this flow of information.
 — To maintain constant vigilance in protection of the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and
     of the press.
 — To stimulate high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism.
 — To foster excellence among journalists.
 — To inspire successive generations of talented individuals to become dedicated journalists.
 — To encourage diversity in journalism.
 — To be the pre-eminent, broad-based membership organization for journalists.
 — To encourage a climate in which journalism can be practiced freely.
SPJ membership is only available to active journalists including broadcast (TV & Radio), print, web, freelance and trade publications.
The Milwaukee-Pro chapter holds professional development events, networking opportunities and advocates for journalist's rights. The Milwaukee-Pro chapter region extends throughout all of eastern Wisconsin from the Illinois border to Upper Michigan.

This includes Door County, Green Bay, Manitowoc, Sheboygan, Port Washington, Racine, Kenosha, Waukesha and West Bend.



Ricardo Torres, President SPJ Milwaukee-Pro

Tracy Rusch, Secretary-Treasurer SPJ Milwaukee-Pro

Steve Schuster, Past-President SPJ Milwaukee-Pro (2012-2013)